Tags

,

How do I start impressively while also creating enough curiosity in the reader so that (s)he wants to read further? How do I do it without using up all the creativity in the start itself, leaving the latter parts completely dry? (For I don’t possess an endless reserve of witty metaphors or a vocabulary so rich and a writing sense so splendid that I can blend any given idea into a delightful prose seamlessly. That’s kind of the whole problem.) How do I sound sensible enough in the middle parts? (which are really the crux anyway) I mean, everyone is going to read the first and last couple of lines. How do I ensure that they give the middle more than just a cursory scroll? How do I come up with an ending that summarizes the point of the post and leaves the reader with a sense of satisfaction of having read something worthwhile that might last just long enough for him to press that like or share button.

And how do I do all this while largely being myself, without having to pretend too much; without deviating from the way I would generally speak about the topic, from what I believe in; and not just write about stuff that I think would appeal to more people. How do I be logical about what I am trying to say without being boring? How do I make my point amply emphatic without falling prey to the propensity of going just that little bit over the top? How do I write something that people can relate to and yet not know it well enough to feel that they have already heard the same thing a hundred times already? How do I take the mundane experiences of my day to day life and wrap such words around them as to make them sound appealing to a complete stranger?

My target, when I first started blogging, was to write a post every week. Although I had been missing that kind of rate by quite a bit after only the first month, my recent frequency has been woefully inadequate even by those unassuming standards. And I don’t really want to this blog to die and become one of those pieces of e-junk – I would like to believe that it isn’t one just yet – that fills up so much web space already. So I recently confessed these issues to a friend who told me that writing would not be such a big pain if I didn’t allow it to be one. She talked about writing without thinking about trivialities such as grammatical errors, by dropping all thoughts about expectations or fears of judgments and just going with the flow. And once you have poured down all that was there in your brain, you start to think of ways to say certain things in a better way, to refine and rearrange ideas, to see if thesaurus has something to offer to help you sound smarter and to get your punctuations correct to the degree that you can. I guess this post is an implementation of that advice to some extent.

